Edinburgh - High Street Hostel

8.9
Great
8.7%
Atmosphere 8.7
9.0%
Staff 9.0
9.2%
Location 9.2
8.8%
Cleanliness 8.8
8.7%
Facilities 8.7
8.9%
Safety 8.9
8.9%
Value 8.9
  • Céline
    Very nice place
  • Kieran
    This was my first experience in hostel and I am very satisfied. Good reception, the beds are clean and the establishment complies with the announcement.

These reviews are from real customers who have stayed at this hostel.

We show you ALL reviews: the positive and the negative reviews so you can be fully informed before making your reservation. If you have stayed at this hostel and want to submit a review, please login to “My account” section to do so.

Coline
13 October 2019
10.0
Fantastic

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Céline
9 September 2019
10.0
Fantastic

Very nice place with perfect organisation, good bed, bathroom and toilet cleaned and BIG kitchen where you can cook whatever you want!

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Kieran
16 August 2019
9.4
Fantastic
This was my first experience in hostel and I am very satisfied. Good reception, the beds are clean and the establishment complies with the announcement.

Very nice, we must book in advance for the period of August because the demand is very strong. I will return without hesitation.

8
Atmosphere 8.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
10
Facilities 10.0
9
Safety 9.0
10
Value 10.0
Claire
24 May 2019
8.3
Great
Very well

The location of the hostel is perfect, the establishment is clean and maintained (just a little smell related to the carpet ...). Good to know: they offer a small dej complete and ultra competitive rate. I recommend this hostel without problem!

8
Atmosphere 8.0
9
Staff 9.0
10
Location 10.0
7
Cleanliness 7.0
8
Facilities 8.0
8
Safety 8.0
8
Value 8.0
Piraino
9 April 2019
9.7
Fantastic
Very good, clean and friendly. It feels good and safe and the food is convenient.

Small flat on the beds that are uncomfortable which can be disturbing in the long run. Many facilities available to practice.

10
Atmosphere 10.0
9
Staff 9.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
9
Facilities 9.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Adrien
7 April 2019
8.7
Great

7
Atmosphere 7.0
8
Staff 8.0
10
Location 10.0
8
Cleanliness 8.0
10
Facilities 10.0
8
Safety 8.0
10
Value 10.0
Elie
3 March 2019
8.3
Great
Best price nearby

For having housed successively Castle Rock Hostel and High Street Hostel, both very well located, I could compare both well my experience was probably biased by the fact that I was not traveling but looking for apartment. In both I found many positive points such as the "lounges" very nice to ask in the evening, the possibility of breakfast and laundry (for a low), friendly and accessible staff and daily screenings of movies. MSM Pros: - location (almost no need to take the bus to visit the best corners of the city) - the price (the cheapest to be accommodated so close to the center) - the particularly friendly staff Cons: - overwhelming majority French (not very serious but not very exotic) - 2 showers, 2 toilets and 4 sinks per floor (for two rooms, one of 18 people) - the door of the dormitory that slams very loudly, the light in the corridor that also lights the interior thanks to a window placed above the door ... in short if your bed is ready for the entrance, you will enjoy the nocturnal awakenings of each of your 17 comrades. -some space to put nothing but his travel bag in the dormitories

7
Atmosphere 7.0
8
Staff 8.0
9
Location 9.0
7
Cleanliness 7.0
8
Facilities 8.0
10
Safety 10.0
9
Value 9.0
YOAN
12 February 2019
9.1
Fantastic
Superb stay, atmosphere at the top, very typical place and beautiful decor; short to recommend !!

Great ! Great location next to Royal Mile and Cowgate, excellent adventure, great encounters, very rich in human experience ...

10
Atmosphere 10.0
8
Staff 8.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
8
Facilities 8.0
8
Safety 8.0
10
Value 10.0
Julien
4 December 2018
9.7
Fantastic
Great hostel, perfect!

I spent 10 days at this hostel. It was magic. The staff is available and renders service as soon as it can. It's clean. The kitchen is huge, we often meet at meals where everyone has their meal that we share later. If you like an atmosphere of sharing, exchange and warm, you must go to this hostel!

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
8
Facilities 8.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
6.3
Good
A well located hostel but the quality of the rooms is very bad. Bunk bed without barrier so very dangerous, double bed on a bed base a place. Very uncomfortable.

Overcrowded hostel. Friendly staff, very poor room quality.

4
Atmosphere 4.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
4
Facilities 4.0
5
Safety 5.0
1
Value 1.0
Richard
10.0
Fantastic

Everything having stayed there before.

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Maxine
9.0
Fantastic

The location

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Pam
10.0
Fantastic

Staff and helfpfulness, Has everything you need and quirky. Great location. Beds comfy and linen and facilities basic but clean. Good value for money.

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Liina
10.0
Fantastic

This is a perfectly situated hostel with lots of comfortable lounging space. The staff was super friendly and the overall atmosphere was great.

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
alessia
10.0
Fantastic

staff, clean, location, building

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Ashlinn
10.0
Fantastic

The High Street Hostel has been amazing, the location is perfectly if you're visiting during the fringe and I'm sure at other times too. Really close to the Castle, it's on the Royal Mile and it is perfectly located near to the Princes Street shops.

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
10.0
Fantastic

This is the best hostel ever! The location is perfect (!!!) , the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, everything's clean, there's free wifi that works and is relatively fast (I had no trouble uploading high resolution photos). I stayed in a room for 16 people but the room is organised in such a way that you actually get some privacy and can't even see all the beds. The room also had lockers (you get the key with your room key), every bed had its own sockets (mine had 4, I had some trouble getting them to work but it was probably because of my adapter and at least one would always work so it was fine!). Each room has a "theme" and they assign your bed (which has a name, depending on the theme). There's also a laundry service and you get clean and dry clothes delivered to your bed in a couple of hours for only £3.50! The breakfast isn't included in the price, but it's really cheap. I can't tell you more than that as I never eat breakfast at hostels. There's free coffee and tea and the lounge areas are very nice! The bathrooms get cleaned regularly, the showers are good, there's hooks for all your things and there were even towels that you could use, idk if you had to pay for them, but they were right there on the hooks by the sinks and they changed them every day! All in all, perfect!

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

Clean and very central.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

friendly and relaxed athmosphere

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Suze
9.0
Fantastic

Good location

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
John
9.0
Fantastic

Good hostel in a good location.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

Great location in the middle of the Old Town, next to the Royal Mile. I was in a 8-bed room with enough space for everyone.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Chelsi
9.0
Fantastic

It's located right off the Royal Mile, making it really easy to get to most places in Edinburgh on foot. The kitchen had lots of cookware. Wireless internet was available everywhere.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for exploring the Old Town and all the walking tours that leave from nearby on the Royal Mile. The massive kitchen and cheap breakfast made saving a few pounds easy. The big kichen also encouraged socalizing, which is essential to a true hostel experience.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Traveler
8.0
Great

The location is perfect and it's clean.

8
Atmosphere 8.0
8
Staff 8.0
8
Location 8.0
8
Cleanliness 8.0
8
Facilities 8.0
8
Safety 8.0
8
Value 8.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

clean, good showers, perfect location. two pillows!!

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
matteo
9.0
Fantastic

Is the mostra centrale you can find... With a big kitchen to use, where you can Cook by yourself... Big room and confortable bed... Everything is ok.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Lisa
9.0
Fantastic

I loved that this hostel was close to everything on the royal mile. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions. The kitchen was also good for those who don't want to eat out every night.

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

The location is ideal to discover the centre of the city. The staff was frindly and always ready to help or answer our questions. You have to pay for the breakfast, but the products were of good quality (even if I still dilske English Breakfast tea !). I also like the themed-dormitories (our hallway was quite geeky with Batman, Ninja Turtles, Lord of The Rings...).

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Cheng
4.0

The location and the price of it. It is very central.

4
Atmosphere 4.0
4
Staff 4.0
4
Location 4.0
4
Cleanliness 4.0
4
Facilities 4.0
4
Safety 4.0
4
Value 4.0
Maria
10.0
Fantastic

Super friendly staff, always helpful for directions, how to save money, etc everything that budget traveler wants to know. Clean, breakfast for 2£, what more you can ask for it.

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
9.0
Fantastic

Location

9
Atmosphere 9.0
9
Staff 9.0
9
Location 9.0
9
Cleanliness 9.0
9
Facilities 9.0
9
Safety 9.0
9
Value 9.0
Traveler
7.0
Very good

The location is awesome, walking distance to all the sights. Friendly staff and lockers in all the rooms.

7
Atmosphere 7.0
7
Staff 7.0
7
Location 7.0
7
Cleanliness 7.0
7
Facilities 7.0
7
Safety 7.0
7
Value 7.0
kimberley
8.0
Great

The staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful

8
Atmosphere 8.0
8
Staff 8.0
8
Location 8.0
8
Cleanliness 8.0
8
Facilities 8.0
8
Safety 8.0
8
Value 8.0
Aimie
7.0
Very good

Close to centre, big kitchen area

7
Atmosphere 7.0
7
Staff 7.0
7
Location 7.0
7
Cleanliness 7.0
7
Facilities 7.0
7
Safety 7.0
7
Value 7.0
Traveler
8.9
Great
Very reasonable price, very well located, very nice staff, quiet rooms. Only drawbacks: too close to other beds, and mattress uncomfortable I highly recommend it and I will not hesitate to return!

Excellent quality / price

10
Atmosphere 10.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
5
Cleanliness 5.0
7
Facilities 7.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
9.1
Fantastic
I advise you all. 2 minutes from the beautiful city center of Edinburgh. I slept in the mixed dorms and it was very clean, I even had the right to a towel provided. Friendly staff, 24 hours a day, Lounge with pool room

Great hotel!

8
Atmosphere 8.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
8
Cleanliness 8.0
8
Facilities 8.0
10
Safety 10.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
9.6
Fantastic
Pas cher, agréable, bien placé

Cool

8
Atmosphere 8.0
10
Staff 10.0
10
Location 10.0
10
Cleanliness 10.0
10
Facilities 10.0
9
Safety 9.0
10
Value 10.0
Traveler
7.7
Very good
We spent 5 nights in a mixed 10 bed dorm. The location is ideal: the street overlooks the Royal Mile, in the heart of the historic center of the city. The team is charming and quick to help you, the cleanliness of the rooms, toilets and showers satisfa

7
Atmosphere 7.0
7
Staff 7.0
10
Location 10.0
7
Cleanliness 7.0
7
Facilities 7.0
8
Safety 8.0
8
Value 8.0
Email is not valid Fill in the email Fill in the subject Fill in the message Fill in the from name 1 other person is looking at this hostel right now! %s other people are looking at this hostel right now! Last booking 1 hour ago from %s Last booking %s hours ago from %s Last booking was today from %s Last booking was yesterday from %s Last booking was this week from %s